Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning, newspaper reading and more.
-
Listen to the world's literature! Access the complete catalogue of critically acclaimed Naxos audiobooks, with transcriptions available for English language learning. Categories for Children's Classics, Classic Fiction, and Shakespeare's plays. New titles are added monthly.
This product is limited to 5 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
In order to properly end a session and free up a user count, please click on the red Log-Out button.
-
See the world's greatest operas, ballets, orchestras and artists on demand. See performances by legendary artists like Placido Domingo, Claudio Abbado, Luciano Pavarotti, Martha Argerich and Herbert von Karajan. The collection includes more than 2,500 full-length videos.
- Maximum concurrent users is five. If you can't log in, try again later.
- Make sure to click on the red logout button to close your session and make way for another user.
-
The Naxos Works Database is your online catalog of classical pieces accompanied by a wealth of data such as duration, instruments, publisher and introduction to the pieces. With more than 26,000 pieces and more added daily, it is your gateway to the world of classical music.
- Only one user can log in at a time. If you can't log in, try again later.
- Make sure to click on the red logout button to close your session and make way for another user.
-
Understand the world. Navigate life. Access The New York Times here.
Whether you’re managing finances, tackling tough parenting problems, or simply looking to make sense of this moment, rely on our original, quality journalism to lead the way.
Enjoy access to The New York Times, compliments of Ottawa Public Library.
It’s an essential source for fearless reporting, varied perspectives, and practical advice on nearly every topic — from the vital issues shaping our world to the simple pleasures that make everyday life better.
Start Exploring Today
Please note:
- You must create a New York Times account to access.
- An email address is required
- There is a daily limit on how many remote passes are available.
- Access does not include the New York Times crossword puzzle and e-reader editions.
- If you get a subscription notice while browsing the site, please ignore.
-
NFB Campus streams almost 1,500 more films than the free NFB site. (Those 1,500 extra films are only available for streaming in library through OPL NFB Campus subscription; The other 4,300 films are available free from NFB site www.nfb.ca).
These 5,800 films including documentaries, animation, and interactive resources are 99% Canadian content in English and in French. They provide a focus on Canadian content and ready-made curated channels and playlists on a variety of topics, including children’s movies, Indigenous cinema, Indigenous voices, and reconciliation.
-
NoveList K-8 Plus is a trusted source of read-alike recommendations specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.
-
Looking for your next book? Want to find more authors like your favorites? NoveList Plus has all your reading answers. Find books that match your interests, read-alikes for your favorite titles and authors, or ready-made book lists on your favorite genres. With NoveList Plus you'll fill up your to-read list in no time!
-
All catalogue features are available via OPL's free apps:
- Search for items and use geo-locator to find the closest location
- Manage your account, renew items, place holds and view what you have checked out
- Browse recent arrivals and read what others are saying
-
A searchable archive of 30 days which is part of the database Library PressDisplay. Articles can be translated into German, Greek, Spanish or French. The viewer can also listen to individual articles in any of these languages. To access articles published more than 30 days ago, search the Canadian Newsstand database.
-
This digitized full-images archives of the Ottawa Citizen provides genealogists, researchers and general public with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
This will allow Ottawans to digitally travel back through the centuries to become eyewitnesses to our local history.
Coverage is from 1845 to 2010, but you can access more recent full text content from September 1985 until now from Canadian Major Dailies ProQuest (Formerly Canadian Newsstand).